Business and Economic Development

The Business and Economic Development Committee is charged with aligning the resources of CareerSource Citrus Levy Marion with the economic development efforts of the three counties. It is also charged with reviewing staff and economic development coordination and collaborative efforts at business outreach and development. The Committee is organized into industry sector workgroups designed to engage the broader segments of the key industry sectors in our three county area to ensure that existing business needs for talent are taken into account in approving demand occupations and targeted occupations for CareerSource Citrus Levy Marion training priorities.

Committee Members

Mike Melfi, Chair
Champs Software, Inc.
Citrus County Private Sector
Appointed 11/04

Jim Ankoviak
Marion Regional Manufacturer’s Association/Winco Mfg
Marion Private Sector
Appointed 9/11

Michael Biskie
Monterey Boats
Levy County Private Sector
Appointed 4/02

Phil Geist
Florida Small Business Development Center
Marion County CBO
Appointed 9/11

Robert Goldberg
Spherion Staffing Services
Marion County Private Sector
Appointed 4/02

Desmond Knight
Central Florida Electric Cooperative
Levy County Private Sector
Appointed 6/03

Marilyn Ladner
College of Central Florida
Community College
Appointed 9/11

Mark Paugh
College of Central Florida
Community College
Appointed 7/11

David J. Pieklik
Nature Coast Business Development Council
Levy County CBO/EDC
Appointed 8/12

Kevin T. Sheilley
Ocala/Marion County Chamber and Economic Partnership (CEP)
Marion County CBO/EDC
Appointed 6/13

Don Taylor
Citrus County Economic Development Council
Citrus County CBO/EDC
Appointed 6/13

John Thrumston
Tarawood Utilities, LLC
Citrus County Private Sector
Appointed 8/14

For any inquiries, please contact Val Hinson at